Stamp: Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) (Tristan da Cunha 2005)

Here you can manage your collection of postage stamps online.

Here you can manage your collection of postage stamps online.

To learn more

Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) (Tristan da Cunha 2005)

28 March (Tristan da Cunha ) within release UNESCO World Heritage: Gough Island goes into circulation Stamp Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) face value 50 Saint Helena penny

Stamp Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) in catalogues
Michel: Mi: TA 946
Stanley Gibbons: Sg: TA 824

Stamp is square format.

stamp from se-tenant strip of five

Also in the issue UNESCO World Heritage: Gough Island:

Data entry completed
Stamp Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) in digits
Country: Tristan da Cunha
Date: 2005-03-28
Print: Offset lithography
Perforation: comb 13¾
Emission: Commemorative
Format: Stamp
Face Value: 50 Saint Helena penny

Stamp Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis) it reflects the thematic directions:

Animals are multicellular, eukaryotic organisms of the kingdom Animalia (also called Metazoa). All animals are motile, meaning they can move spontaneously and independently, at some point in their lives. Their body plan eventually becomes fixed as they develop, although some undergo a process of metamorphosis later on in their lives. All animals are heterotrophs: they must ingest other organisms or their products for sustenance.

Mammals are any vertebrates within the class Mammalia (/məˈmeɪli.ə/ from Latin mamma "breast"), a clade of endothermic amniotes distinguished from reptiles (including birds) by the possession of a neocortex (a region of the brain), hair, three middle ear bones and mammary glands. All female mammals nurse their young with milk, secreted from the mammary glands. Mammals include the largest animals on the planet, the great whales. The basic body type is a terrestrial quadruped, but some mammals are adapted for life at sea, in the air, in trees, underground or on two legs. The largest group of mammals, the placentals, have a placenta, which enables the feeding of the fetus during gestation. Mammals range in size from the 30–40 mm (1.2–1.6 in) bumblebee bat to the 30-meter (98 ft) blue whale. With the exception of the five species of monotreme (egg-laying mammals), all modern mammals give birth to live young. Most mammals, including the six most species-rich orders, belong to the placental group. The largest orders are the rodents, bats and Soricomorpha (shrews and allies). The next three biggest orders, depending on the biological classification scheme used, are the Primates (apes and monkeys), the Cetartiodactyla (whales and even-toed ungulates), and the Carnivora (cats, dogs, seals, and allies).

Marine life, or sea life or ocean life, refers to the plants, animals and other organisms that live in the salt water of the sea or ocean, or the brackish water of coastal estuaries. At a fundamental level, marine life helps determine the very nature of our planet. Marine organisms produce much of the oxygen we breathe. Shorelines are in part shaped and protected by marine life, and some marine organisms even help create new land. Altogether there are 230,000 documented marine species, including over 16,000 species of fish, and it has been estimated that nearly two million marine species are yet to be documented. Marine species range in size from the microscopic, including plankton and phytoplankton which can be as small as 0.02 micrometres, to huge cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises) which in the case of the blue whale reach up to 33 metres (109 feet) in length, being the largest known animal.

For more information about Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis), you can search for GOOGLE

Stamp, Subantarctic Fur Seal (Arctocephalus tropicalis), Tristan da Cunha,  , Animals (Fauna), Mammals, Sea (Marine) Mammals, Sea Life, Seals (Animals)